You are here

Caroline C Ravello

Wednesday, December 14, 2016
My mother died at 83, one month before Christmas Day in 2009, my father at 80, six weeks before Christmas Day in 1990.
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
I still feel that flutter when I hear Elvis Presley belt out Blue Christmas. I was too young when I first heard it to really understand what it was about.
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
​An important aspect about the determinants of suicide is the much-researched role of media impact on the suicide rate.
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
While hosting a radio programme for World Mental Health Day in October, one caller expressed that she felt the answer to reaching people on the issue was for us–my guest and I–to educate communities u
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
​Why is it so easy for us to ignore the mental wellbeing of our children? Often, when we have a suicide among the younger ones we are all in disbelief.
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
​Suicide is a complex issue that does not have a generic response.
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
​Among other explanations, suicide is a reflection of a gap in the emotional wellbeing of our population.
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
​The World Health Organization (WHO) estimates that approximately one million people die each year from suicide. That staggering figure makes the prospect of preventing suicides daunting.
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
​I am certain that someone who has suicided has left behind a number of hurts including among them the pain that those closest to them must feel.
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
​Jane Powell, chief executive of the UK’s Campaign Against Living Miserably (Calm), was quoted in the UK Guardian a year ago saying, “When it comes to suicide prevention, we are almost gender-blind.”

Pages