You are here

Elspeth Duncan

Monday, February 22, 2016
Wooden carvings (often of human faces and figures, steel pans and local flora and fauna) are a common sight in Tobago.
Monday, February 15, 2016
Wheeeeeeeeeee...Snap! Craaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack! Popopopopopopopopop-BANG! Neighbourhood dogs incessantly bark and howl.
Monday, December 14, 2015
One Christmas years ago, when my young nephew, Liu, had first moved to Trinidad from his birthplace, Jamaica, he kept saying that he wanted “Spongebob things” as gifts.
Monday, October 19, 2015
​Recently, through a friend, Mary Soodeen (who is somewhat of a locally-based patron saint of animals), my dog Venus and I met Akimi, a skinny, friendly young dog with a high-pitched yelp.
Monday, October 12, 2015
​Below are excerpts from my conversation with 26-year-old fisherman, Simba Garraway, who passionately discussed what he and other fishermen see as the detrimental effects of the increasing number of o
Monday, October 5, 2015
​“Does being so far out at sea in a small pirogue require courage?” I ask him. Twenty-six-year-old Simba Garraway chuckles. “I wouldn’t call that ‘courage.’ I believe in God 150 per cent.
Monday, September 21, 2015
​I am increasingly impressed as the eleven-year old boy tells me in excited detail about another video he has shot and edited.
Monday, August 24, 2015
​Walking up the incline from Plymouth jetty to return to my car, I notice the sign for the Mystery Tombstone. I have heard and read about this tourist attraction, but have never seen it.
Monday, August 17, 2015
​In an unexpected encounter at the monthly Market Deh bazaar, we see each other for the first time in three years.
Monday, August 10, 2015
​My phone rings and the name that shows up is “Linda B”—the woman about whom I wrote last week, who had told me of The Golden Key, a simple, alternative faith-based technique used to achieve positive

Pages