You are here

Knight Riders seek play-off win

Saturday, August 19, 2017
TKR’s Darren Bravo Photo by:TKR


Faced with a pitch that will be very different to the one they dominated opponents on at the Queen’s Park Oval, the Trinbago Knight Riders will face the struggling Guyana Amazon Warriors in their seventh match of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) T20 tournament tonight at Providence Stadium in Guyana.

The TKR boys have been in great form winning five out of their six matches to date and needs just one more win to guarantee themselves a place in the knockout phase.

The Warriors on the other hand have played five matches, losing four and winning just one. They narrowly went down to the Jamaica Tallawahs by two runs in their first home game on Thursday night. The slowness of the Providence pitch can be a serious factor in TKRs plan to humble the home team. The visitors have lost the excellent leg-spinner Shadab Khan, so Sunil Narine who has played many times at Providence during his time with the Warriors, will have a major role to play. The TKR is likely to thinker with their line-up and so into the clash packed with slower bowlers.

Guyana, on the other hand, have their backs to the wall and will need to win their remaining five matches to stand a chance of making a trip to Tarouba for the finals.

TKR team operations manager Colin Borde said that although Khan will not be available, the squad has men who can come in and do a job. “When this squad was selected we choose players for different courses and as such we have the men to play well on the slow tracks in Guyana. We also have enough fire power in there make up for the loss of Shadab so we are confident. We know that we will be facing a 15,000-strong contingent in terms of the crowd and they would be reminding us that we are in enemy territory. However, we have to be guarded and just go out there, taking it one match at a time and looking to do our best.”


TKR: Dwayne Bravo (capt), Darren Bravo, Hamza Tariq, Kevon Cooper, Brendan McCullum, Mehedi Hasan, Colin Munroe, William Perkins, Sunil Narine, Anderson Phillip, Denesh Ramdin, Nikita Miller, Shadab Khan, Ronsford Beaton and Javon Searles.

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Martin Guptill (capt), Sohail Tanvir, Rayad Emrit, Rashid Khan, Chadwick Walton, Jason Mohammed, Steven Taylor, Veerasammy Permaul, Roshan Primus, Gajanand Singh, Assad Fudadibn, Keon Joseph, Steven Jacobs, Stephen Katwaroo, Muhammad Ali Khan, Kemo Paul.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.