You are here

Windies A seeks to press home advantage

Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Test left-hander Vishaul Singh … will lead West Indies A’s batting. PICTURE CMC

MONTEGO BAY, Jamaica—West Indies A will be hoping to make home advantage count when they clash with Sri Lanka A in the opening four-day “Test” of the three-match series at the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium today.

In their last meeting in Sri Lanka a year ago, the Caribbean side went down 2-1 in a similar three-match series and now armed with the advantage of home conditions, are keen on payback for that series defeat.

Captain Shamarh Brooks said his side were upbeat and well-prepared, especially following a well-executed training camp in Antigua.

“The players have been pretty excited.

“We had a camp in Antigua and it went pretty well. It was pretty strenuous and it was a good blow-out for the players coming back off of white-ball matches,” Brooks said.

“It helped to get them back into the groove of red-ball matches, so it went very well. We arrived last week in Jamaica to complete our preparations for the series.

Several players made their mark on that tour of Sri Lanka, with Brooks, left-hander Vishaul Singh, Jahmar Hamilton and all-rounder Rahkeem Cornwall all impressing.

Selectors have retained the core of that squad for the current series and Brooks believes this stability will be one of the keys to any success in the series.

Brooks will be looking towards The inexperienced fast bowling duo of Reynard Leveridge and Oshane Thomas are expected to lead the attack, with speedster Keon Joseph also in the line-up.

Leg-spinner Damion Jacobs is the front-line spinner while Cornwall, whose off-spin earned him 23 wickets in Sri Lanka last year, expected to feature prominently.


WEST INDIES A – Shamarh Brooks (captain), Vishaul Singh (vice-captain), Sunil Ambris, John Campbell, Yannic Cariah, Rahkeem Cornwall, Sheldon Cottrell, Jahmar Hamilton, Montcin Hodge, Damion Jacobs, Keon Joseph, Reynard Leveridge, Oshane Thomas.

SRI LANKA A – Dhananjaya De Silva (captain), Charith Asalanka (vice-captain), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Roshen Silva, Sandun Weerakkody, Ron Chandragupta, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Amila Aponso, Malinda Pushpakumara, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Kumara, Vimukthi Perera, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.